The second floor of the Lisbon Public Library building–originally called the Wink and Hauser building, built in 1875–was renovated in 1997. Led by the library board of trustees, several local organizations—the library, Southeast Linn Community Center, and the Lisbon History Center–joined forces to raise money for the project that restored a dark, dusty storage area to its former glory as a cultural center for the community.
The name Heritage Hall was chosen for the space because of its rich history during the last quarter of the nineteenth century. When the Wink and Hauser building was new, the second floor served as a meeting place for city council, a concert hall for traveling musicians, a lecture and theatre hall, and a home for social and literary clubs.
Today the hall is sought after by professional and amateur musicians as a performance space because of its outstanding acoustic qualities and intimate setting. The library uses the hall for at least a dozen cultural events a year as well as for Story Hour each week.
The original walls of Heritage Hall were covered with graffiti dating back to 1875, when the building was new: signatures of city council members, local businessmen, musicians and other visitors; drawings, advertisements and other jottings. During the renovation, much of the graffiti was covered by drywall, but several panels were left to display some of this informal history.